Are you raising a rapist in your house?

Do you remember the first time you drove a car? Like me, I am sure you were so conscious about everything around you. I couldn’t talk, couldn’t listen to music and was focused on driving the car without getting a scratch. But as I continued to drive regularly, after 2 or 3 months something amazing happened, driving because so easy for me that it was like breathing or walking. Sometimes I wasn’t even aware I was driving because I was so engrossed in talking to my friends and listening to some music while driving.

That is called “Habituation.” Habit formation is the process by which a behaviour, through regular repetition, becomes automatic or habitual.

Habit formation is the process by which a behaviour, through regular repetition, becomes automatic or habitual.

Our brain has limited capacity so our brain encodes the everyday thing into a habit so that we could free space in our brain and learn new things. 

Now habituation is a good thing most of the times but it is not good when it comes to domestic violence and getting physically abused or mentally abused every day. Domestic violence

It is especially not good for two people who are watching what is happening to you every day… your daughter and your son.

By accepting the situation for the sake of “our culture” or “he’s my husband” or “pati parmeshwar hota hai” or “he owns me” or “it is my destiny” or “I am helpless, I can’t do anything about it” or “where will I go?” and “What will the society say?” etc not only you are encouraging a crime but also weaving a new understanding for your children.  

See mother getting abused every day by father how would your son or your daughter shape up to be: 

Son: He will grow up inculcated with values such as it’s ok to beat or abuse a woman. Why? Because my mother is a good person and she took it so well and still loved my father, as a matter of fact she respected him more. So should I do it with my wife because it’s ok. 

Daughter: She will grow up with the understanding that “I am a girl, it’s my destiny to be abused. My mother didn’t say anything against my father then this must be the way to do it.”  

And what is worse your son will eventually not respect any women. One day he will rape a girl because it’s ok his mother taught him that. And also law can easily be broken and abused just like a woman as his father taught him that.

Please don’t let someone get comfortable with disrespecting you. You not only supporting a crime but also setting a very bad example to your children.  Children learn technical stuff like maths, physics and grammar in school but civic sense, morals and mannerism they mostly pick up from their parents.

The court would not criminalize domestic violence for some reason, but we both know it is a crime. Sign this petition and help raise a voice against domestic crime and crime against women.

Sign the petition here

Leave a Reply

