Visual Livingston Seagul

“For most gulls, it was not flying that matters, but eating. For this gull though, it was not eating that mattered, but flight. More than anything else, Jonathan Livingstone Seagull loved to fly.”

Who doesn’t love or have not read Jonathan Livingston Seagull. It was my favorite book during college days. I was most fascinated with this book. Everytime I read it, I got some new meaning some new definition, a new approach towards life.

This book inspired me to follow my passion, my dreams, the things that I was born to do. I was until I read this book was prisoner of my own knowledge, the knowledge that was passed on to us by generations. The knowledge that killed our dreams before it could even come out of our subconscious minds. This book made me free from my inhibitions, made me realize that true happiness lies in things one love to do, what one is born to do.
Many people I meet tell me “I don’t know what my passion is. Or I am not sure what am I good at.” It’s ok. Even I didn’t know what am I good at for a long time, until one day I decided to take that jump… and I started to fly. I tried everything that came in my way. Let yourself go. Go out, get lost, it’s ok.. thats when you’ll find that you good at. Or what makes you incredibly happy. You’ll never find that by sitting at home and following mundane ritual of this cantankerous society. 
One can not learn to fly by just sitting and thinking about it. By not taking risk, what you wanna achieve? Make it safely to death? You have to make the jump. 
Jump. Fly. Dream. Be a Jonathan Livingston Seagull.

This is my way of seeing Jonathan Livingston Seagull. This is my tribute to Richard Bach on one of his most amazing work. Whenever I read this book I visualized flying.

This is my Visual Livingston Seagull.

All the pictures are copyright of Shoumik De. http://www.shoumikde.com

SHO_5446There were many those fly to live…

SHO_5448But there was one..

SHO_5414

That lived to fly.

SHO_5380“Don’t believe what your eyes are telling you. All they show is limitation. Look with your understanding. Find out what you already know and you will see the way to fly.”

SHO_5383

“When you have come to the edge of all the light you have And step into the darkness of the unknown Believe that one of the two will happen to you Either you’ll find something solid to stand on Or you’ll be taught how to fly!”

SHO_5384

“There are no mistakes. The events we bring upon ourselves, no matter how unpleasant, are necessary in order to learn what we need to learn; whatever steps we take, they’re necessary to reach the places we’ve chosen to go.”

SHO_5385

“He was not bone and feather but a perfect idea of freedom and flight, limited by nothing at all”

SHO_5386“Heaven is not a place, and it is not a time. Heaven is being perfect. -And that isn’t flying a thousand miles an hour, or a million, or flying at the speed of light. Because any number is a limit, and perfection doesn’t have limits. Perfect speed, my son, is being there.” 

SHO_5397

“You don’t love hatred and evil, of course. You have to practice and see the real gull, the good in every one of them, and to help them see it in themselves. That’s what I mean by love.” SHO_5398

“Like everything else, Fletcher. Practice.”  SHO_5408“To fly as fast as thought, to anywhere that is, you must begin by knowing that you have already arrived.” 

SHO_5413“Instead of our drab slogging forth and back to the fishing boats, there’s reason to live!

We can lift ourselves out of ignorance, we can find ourselves as creatures of excellence and intelligence and skill. We can learn to be free! we can learn to fly!”  SHO_5427

“Every person, all the events of your life, are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you.”

SHO_5428The price of being misunderstood, he thought. They call you devil or they call you god.”

SHO_5433

“It is by not always thinking of yourself, if you can manage it, that you might somehow be happy. Until you make room in your life for someone as important to you as yourself, you will always be searching and lost”

SHO_5441“Bad things are not the worst things that can happen to us. ‘Nothing’ is the worst thing that can happen to us!”

SHO_5458

“I gave my life to become the person I am right now. Was it worth it?”

This last quote is from Richard Bach’s book “A bridge across forever.” This question has always haunted me and I made it a point in my life that I will not be caught by this at some corner of my life and be speechless. Four years ago I left my boring corporate life, I did what I loved the most, I traveled, I read, I wrote and I did photography. I learnt how to fly. Yes I can proudly say YES IT IS WORTH IT.

Thank you.

6 thoughts on “Visual Livingston Seagul

    1. Thank you so much Chaitali. I truly feel like I experienced freedom hope I could bring the joy to others. I am glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

